Way out over yonder

Grand Canyon

Etching

850 x 600 mm

It was only just over 4 months ago that I sat on the edge of the Grand Canyon and made the sketch for this etching; more a process of attempting to make sense of what I was looking at than creating an instant artwork.

grand-canyon-drawing-for-blog

And now here is the (very much not instant!) artwork, half of which I published on Facebook a few weeks ago. Since my trip to the US, the main instigator of our road trip, my dear friend Jaki Whitren, who INSISTED I came along when I almost baled out, has died, as has her partner, or rather, soul mate, John Cartwright, another of my dearest friends.

grand-canyon-patchwork-1-for-blog

So I dedicate this etching to the memory of John and Jaki with much love. And as, since my trip to the South West, America has been plunged into crisis and I want to express my support for the struggle ahead, I also dedicate this work to my American friends and friends in America; to all the people who smoothed our way for us on the road trip, both indigenous and immigrant (that’s all the rest); and to the Parks Department people, who protect this extraordinary canyon and who were the first to stand up to tyranny. I just hope we can all follow their lead.

1 comment
  1. jersheharvey said:

    I tried to reply on the post but got into new territory. Love the work you’ve done, Bronwen. Very sorry to hear about Jaki and John. It is so good that you did go: it must have meant much to her. And now we have to face up that new man whose name I wish could be airbrushed from the airwaves and all media until he does something good and generous. Democracy is rational debate and let’s help our friends in the States. Jeremy

Leave a Reply

Books On Books

Bookmarking the Evolution of the Book / Curated by Robert Bolick

heaven-is-just-an-inch-away

On ne fait pas d'omelette sans casser des œufs.

Katyboo1's Weblog

The random jottings of a woman called Katy

Anna Raven | Artist's Notes

Life as a painter in the Highlands of Scotland.

Bronwen Bradshaw

Artist Printmaker Video Artists Books

Our Lady of Ink and Erasers

drawing, printing and erasing since the birth of my memory

Amazing Space

A Celebration of the Dove Arts and Crafts Centre

step in stone

collaborative, multi-stranded mixed media art trail in Mendip quarries Somerset summer 2015

Almofate – Colours & Papers

Handmade & Upcycled. Original & One-of-a-kind. Assemblage. Bookbinding. Origami. Collages, folds, stitches & other inspirations

Jenny Graham

Painter/Printmaker

Paper Pilgrim

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathie Vezzani

Art + Travel + Food

Parliament of Dreams

Creative thinking about culture

kestrelart

Welcome to my online sketchbook

dianamilstein

A fine WordPress.com site

Unravelled

Making connections

